Mount Allison honours top student-athletes at annual Night of the Mounties

Mount Allison honours top student-athletes at annual Night of the Mounties

Mount Allison honours top student-athletes at annual Night of the Mounties


Mount Allison University held its annual “Night of the Mounties” on Thursday, March 28 to honour its student-athletes.




Volleyball Mountie Rachel McDougall from Calgary, AB was named the female athlete of the year. 



Football Mountie Nate Rostek from Stillwater Lake, NS was named the male athlete of the year. 



Winning the Women’s Scholar Athlete Award was Basketball Mountie Kate Ollerhead from Wood Point, NB.

Winning the Men’s Scholar Athlete Award was Football Mountie Jonathan Harvey from Halifax, NS.

These awards go to graduating senior students in a recognized undergraduate degree program who have been varsity athletes at Mount Allison for a minimum of two years. They must have shown extraordinary accomplishments both academically and athletically.



Selected as the Outstanding Senior Male Athlete was Basketball Mountie Jeshua Becker from Mates Corner, NB.

The Men’s Outstanding Senior award is the Gus MacFarlane Trophy, which is given to the senior athlete who best exemplifies what a Mount Allison athlete should be. 


Selected as the Outstanding Senior Female Athlete was Basketball Mountie Kiersten Mangold from Peterborough, ON.

The Joy Taylor Memorial was established in 1973 to remember Miss Joy Taylor, a former Director of Women’s Athletics at Mount Allison who was killed in a car accident. This award goes to a student in the senior class who has contributed to athletics in an outstanding manner throughout her athletic career at Mount A and is a candidate for a first degree. Also taken into consideration is her attitude toward competition and sportsmanship.



Overall University Rookie of the Year honours went to Basketball Mountie Abby Miller from Mt. Denson, NS and Swimming Mountie Noah Mascoll-Gomes from St. John’s, Antigua. 

Awarded to students who contribute the most to their teams in their first year of university competition. 



The women’s sportsmanship award was presented to Hockey Mountie Heather Richards from St. Anthony, NL.

In 1983, this award was established as a memorial to Miss Virginia Anne (Gigi) Hicks, a graduate of the Class of ’81. Gigi displayed the qualities that this award represents. In the selection, the committee considers the student’s dedication to the sport primarily, but also gives serious consideration to the athlete’s attitude toward competition, degree of improvement, and her continuous contribution to the team.


The men’s sportsmanship award was presented to Badminton & Soccer Mountie Jaryd Morrissey from Sackville, NB.

The Men’s Sportsmanship award was donated by the Paikin family in the name of G. Harvey Gilmour. It is awarded to an individual who puts his heart and soul into practices and games while positively contributing to his team in every way.



Winning the prestigious Bubsy Grant Award were photographers Paul & Lissa Lynch.

The Bubsy Grant Award was established in honour of Alexander Grant (Bubsy), a dedicated employee for 36 years at the Mount Allison Athletic Centre. The award is presented to a deserving individual who has, through time and effort, made a significant contribution to Mount Allison Athletics.



The men’s team manager of the year was presented to Mark Rogers from Bridgewater, NS (men’s basketball) and the women’s team manager of the year was presented to Alexandra Blades from Halifax, NS for the second year in a row (women’s soccer).


The men’s Award of Merit Trophy was donated by the late Gus MacFarlane in 1965 to reward outstanding commitment by a manager to a men’s team. 

The Donald Cameron Manager’s Award was given by Donald Cameron in 1981 to recognize the individual who so unselfishly gives his/her time to support a Mount Allison women’s team.



The distinguished therapy award was presented to Haruka Kashiwai from Hantsport, NS & Katie Rubinger from Halifax, NS (men’s basketball).



Team Rookies of the Year were: Evan Lam from Moncton, NB (badminton); Noah Mascoll-Gomes from St. John’s, Antigua (swimming); Sam Pierson from Kingston, ON (basketball); James Parker from Abbotsford, BC and Vincenzo Frangione from Ottawa, ON (football); Cody Kroczynski from Regina, SK (soccer), Sophie Austin from Kanata, ON (soccer); Abby Miller from Mt. Denson, NS (basketball); Sophie Landry from Charlo, NB (volleyball); Samantha Jarron from Ajax, ON (hockey), Isabelle Choumiline from Truro, NS (badminton); and Jill Downey from Rothesay, NB (swimming). 



Most Valuable team members were: Nate Rostek from Stillwater Lake, NS  (football overall); Kiel Ambursley from Toronto, ON and Malik Richards from Brampton, ON (football offence); Damian Halstead from Brampton, ON (football defense); Michael Cormier from Margaree Valley, NS (soccer); Iain Crowell from Charlottetown, PE (swimming); Aram Currie from Riverview, NB (basketball); Jaryd Morrissey from Sackville, NB (badminton); Rachel McDougall from Calgary, AB (volleyball); Maddy Henry from Toronto, ON (swimming); Suzuha Tanaka from Osaka, JP (badminton); Emily Poole from Halifax, NS (soccer); Kiersten Mangold from Peterborough, ON (basketball); and Heather Richards from St. Anthony, NL (hockey).



Terry Tait and Sean Connors were both given Merit Awards — Tait for his longstanding coaching contributions with Mounties Football and Connors for his contributions to Mounties Athletics.